The dreamy Niagara SkyWheell

DSC_0431 copy

The first time i visited Canada was in 2012. I was visiting here for 6 months. It was something I will cherish in my heart forever. Little did I know that I was going to come back after 8 months, which would be in August 28th 2013. Only then, I moved here as  an international student and would stay here until I complete my education at Seneca College. Before I go any further, I want to say this very quickly: Canada really has opened my eyes. It was back then and still now, very inspirational, motivational and beautiful.

Now back to the story that I want to write about—Well what about Niagara Falls? It’s an amazing place to be. Simply. I’ve visited there 4/5 times and totally loved it. I mean how do you not take photos of not just the SkyWheel at Niagara, but everything?

It is, in my opinion, one of the best places for doing street photography. There’s so much to photograph. You look everywhere and you’ll find moments. No question about that. And, if you push yourself to be creative and see things differently than others(and by that I mean through your lens), then you may, and will come to that notion that there are certain things you see in a certain way that matters only to you. It may not be, say a big deal to few people or many, but to you it does and which is why and how I felt towards it(by that I mean the photo which I took that night).

I once asked an important question to a very well known photographer from Sweden(whom I once met in my home country). I can’t recall her name at the moment but this was the question: “What makes a photograph great? How do you know that you go it?” She gave me a simple, yet a very bold answer. She said, and I quote, “It’s how you feel towards it. It’s your feeling. It’s in your heart. Not everyone has to agree with you, or your likings or your opinions, but when you feel it you know it’s there.” And she couldn’t have said it better. It totally gave me the confidence back then(which was in 2010), and since then I’ve been following my heart and instincts.

This photo was taken in 2012. Now, I’ve completely forgotten about it since but until few months ago, I stumbled upon it on one of my old hard drives. I looked at it and saw something interesting. “Black and White” mode was on and it’s a thing that I love the most. And after seeing it, I really loved it. I loved how dreamy it looked to me.

Copyright © 2012 Shadab Shahrokh Hai. All rights reserved.

Leave a comment